The Raw Kitchen, Fremantle

On Thursday, has-similar-lactose-issues and I spent a beautiful day together. It started like all good days of mine do, with a 12km run around the river together (with much talking involved; we had two weeks of news to get through!). After a quick smoothie for breakfast we headed to Fremantle to get a little bit of pampering. After 1.5 hours of bliss, which included a foot scrub, full-body massage and facial, I was feeling very relaxed. From there we headed to the Raw Kitchen. Originally located just off the main street we realised only when we arrived there that it has since moved to its new (bigger) premises in High St. After a quick google map search by has-similar-lactose-issues we were off on foot to the new site; which is not far at all from the old one. Has-similar-lactose-issues did very well navigating us there, I laughed to her that my navigation skills are non-existent hence my lack of volunteering to direct us there.

We arrived and were met with a small line. Ahead of us were a few groups of 4 and 3 people, since we were only a 2 we actually got to skip the cue and were seated pretty much immediately. We apologised to those ahead of us still waiting…feeling very guilty but definitely chuffed there was no wait. The fit out of the new premises is spacious; a coffee/smoothie station at the front, and a small shop selling raw products/books ect. and an area in the middle where you order food from and which has a delicious array of salads, raw chocolate and dessert products in a cabinet. At the back is the kitchen. We were seated on a communal dining table, with there being some tables for four also around. I tend not to like communal dining, however we were not cramped in and felt we had our own space so it was fine at the Raw Kitchen.

The menu was surprisingly bigger than what I thought, with the food being gluten free, diary free and sugar free. Dishes are also denoted if they are raw and/or if they contain honey. I had a tough time choosing but ended up deciding on a raw pasta dish (Live Zucchini Pasta) simply because I bought a spiraliser a few months ago and have been wanting to try raw pasta, however have been waiting to try one at a restaurant so I know what to be aiming for in my cooking (I tend to like to try dishes by the experts before attempting to cook them myself). This dish came beautifully presented. It was pasta made with zucchini, with a raw tomato sauce, mushrooms, kalamata olives, avocado, basil and cracked pepper. I’m pretty sure it also had nutritional yeast scattered over the top, but this was not denoted on the menu. This dish was light, fresh and full of flavour. I did not even miss the lack of protein or carbohydrates in it.

Raw Zucchini Pasta

Raw Zucchini Pasta

Has-similar-lactose-issues went for a raw dish too; the pad thai. This dish consistent of zucchini noodles, almond satay sauce, kaffir lime, tamarind, fresh herbs and mung bean sprouts. Again the presentation was enticing. I had a little taste tester of this dish and it was a flavour bang with a hint of spice.

Pad Thai

Pad Thai

We also ordered some takeaway flat whites with almond milk. These were strong and lacked that creamy feel my usual soy flat whites have.

In all, the Raw Kitchen impressed me, we both commented as we were walking away that we felt light, and content. However late that afternoon (at about 4 o’clock) I was ravenous when normally I am good until dinner. I had a little laugh about it to has-similar-lactose-issues and she commented that by 3 she was starving. I am guessing that lack of protein might have had something to do with this.

The Raw Kitchen on Urbanspoon

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gilly@doubletroublerunning
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 09:00:15

    Great review, great day! Thanks again for organising! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bakers Royale

I bake, I jog and I blog

Cookies and Cups

Chronicling my life in sugar

my darling lemon thyme

I bake, I jog and I blog

Bite-sized thoughts

I bake, I jog and I blog

Savour The Moment | To appreciate fully; enjoy or relish

Believe In Yourself - Blog

I bake, I jog and I blog

nicolejoyinspire

guilt free and raw desserts - gluten + dairy free, no added sugar

Claudia Beyer | BareVitality

Personal Trainer & Holistic Lifestyle Coach

With Style & Grace

I bake, I jog and I blog

My New Roots

I bake, I jog and I blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

