Atomic Espresso, South Perth

I am often in the South Perth area and for some reason never think of Atomic Espresso for a bite to eat. However, recently a good friend posted a stunning breakfast photo on Instagram from Atomic, which firmly planted the idea in my mind. I am a very visual eater and love to look up photos of menu items prior to dining out or I secretly sometimes walk around restaurants/cafes to see what the dishes on offer look like (haha…sly). So after a lovely morning with Speed-eater-bf which involved the beach, a coffee and lie at the park, we stopped in at Atomic for lunch. It was quite busy when we arrived (around one-ish) however we easily found a table; ample space at this cafe including both inside and outside seating options.

I was pleased to see that their breakfast menu was on offer, giving the option of another breakfast or lunch. I like it when cafes have both options available. I had a hard time deciding on what to order. I had heard word that eats-as-often-as-most-take-air brother had recently frequented this establishment and had enjoyed the Thai Beef Salad..however after much internal debate decided on the Roast Vegie Bruschetta ($15.50; roast pumpkin, roast capsicum, grilled eggplant, grilled zucchini, grilled asparagus, Danish feta, basil infused EV olive oil, cracked pepper, & sea salt on ciabatta toast). I opted to remove the Danish feta and add avocado and a poached egg. I can’t say I was wowed by this dish, it was just ok. There was nothing wrong with it, however it just didn’t excite. I did find they were quite generous with the basil infused EV olive oil, a little too liberally handed for my personal tastes. They were also very generous with the avocado, which again was too much.

Roast Vegie Bruschetta with Avocado and Poached Egg

Roast Vegie Bruschetta with Avocado and Poached Egg

Speed-eater-bf ordered the Club Sandwich ($17.50). This came with shaved turkey, free range bacon, cos, tomato, aoili and wholemeal sourdough bread with a side of French fries. I was a little surprised the turkey was of the shaved variety, I did expect it to be a turkey breast. Speed-eater however seemed pleased with his meal.

Club Sandwich

Club Sandwich

Atomic Espresso was a solid cafe for lunch with generous portion sizes. I’d like to come back and try their Bircher Muesli…having seen some beautiful photos of it..haha.

Atomic Espresso on Urbanspoon

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gilly@doubletroublerunning
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 07:25:29

    Hey – shame it wasn’t up to par! Fran and I go here a lot – the pumpkin salad is great! Had bircher muesli last week – good, but bircher is only alright in my opinion anyway! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bakers Royale

I bake, I jog and I blog

Cookies and Cups

Chronicling my life in sugar

my darling lemon thyme

I bake, I jog and I blog

Bite-sized thoughts

I bake, I jog and I blog

Savour The Moment | To appreciate fully; enjoy or relish

Believe In Yourself - Blog

I bake, I jog and I blog

nicolejoyinspire

guilt free and raw desserts - gluten + dairy free, no added sugar

Claudia Beyer | BareVitality

Personal Trainer & Holistic Lifestyle Coach

With Style & Grace

I bake, I jog and I blog

My New Roots

I bake, I jog and I blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

