Kettle Cafe, Lathlain

Today I found a gem of a cafe. Well I technically didn’t find it, swaps-food-happily-with-hubby chose it as our latest venue for breakfast post-run. After a 18km trot around the three bridges in South Perth we were all looking forward to breakfast. We arrived just prior to 8am and the place was nice and quiet at this hour. The cafe however is quite large which is nice as most cafe’s now days are quite pokey. There is also a lovely selection of cookbooks tucked away in a self, I can imagine enjoying reading one of these over a leisurely breakfast. Anyhow, the menu today was their spring menu and wow doesn’t it have some nice dishes on it. I could have ordered a number of them and been a very happy camper. The item that struck me was the Blueberry, poached pear and yoghurt terrine, candied almond and passion fruit coulis ($12). I was very interested to see what this dish would look like, having never heard of such a dish before. It felt nice too, to be stepping outside of my usual order of scrambled eggs on toast. And when this dish came out I was so glad I did. The terrine itself was creamy and not overly sweet, which worked well with the candied almonds and passion fruit coulis. I loved the  passion fruit coulis, it was sweet and felt fresh with the yoghurt. The serving size also was perfect. Two of the other girls (swaps-food-happily-with-hubby and miss-cultural-diversity)  ordered this dish and were also impressed. Their dishes looked exactly the same as mine (which I think is very important in terms of consistency). This meal was also noted on the menu as being gluten-free for those with such food intolerance.

Blueberry, poached pear and yoghurt terrine, candied almonds and passion fruit coulis

Blueberry, poached pear and yoghurt terrine, candied almonds and passion fruit coulis

I ordered a pot of English Breakfast tea with soy milk ($4.50), and i just loved the tea cup this came in. Something about drinking out of a china tea cup just makes tea taste better.

English Breakfast Tea

English Breakfast Tea

My has-similar-lactose-issues friend also took the plunge from her usual order of poached eggs on toast and branched out ordering the Coconut Bircher Muesli, grilled peaches and vanilla mascarpone ($13.50).  This dish was presented in a retro bowl and the coconut, mixed nuts and dried fruit were in abundance.

Coconut Bircher Muesli, grilled peaches and vanilla mascarpone

Coconut Bircher Muesli, grilled peaches and vanilla mascarpone

My other running buddy, new to the breakfast fold, lets call her,  Mrs-Smiles (as she always has the most gorgeous smile on her face; she was even smiling two weekends ago when I saw her running at the 32km mark of her first marathon) ordered the Pumpkin and chickpea guisado, baked turkish bread, labne and za’atar ($14) and Red Passion Juice.  You had the option with the guisado of  adding poached eggs or chorizo, she chose not to. I liked the look of this dish and must order one of these one of these days when I am out breakfasting.  Mrs-Smiles said the Red Passion Juice seemed to be a combination of watermelon, strawberry and apple which looked nice and refreshing.

Pumpkin and chickpea guisado, baked turkish bread, labne and za'atar

Pumpkin and chickpea guisado, baked turkish bread, labne and za’atar

Red Passion Juice

Red Passion Juice

Other drinks that were ordered included a Chai Latte and Flat White.

Chai Latte

Chai Latte

 

Flat White

Flat White

I absolutely loved this cafe and will be back. The food was beautifully presented and of a very decent portion. I particularly liked the variety on the menu and the interesting twists on some of the breakfast classics. I found the prices also very reasonable.

Kettle Cafe on Urbanspoon

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gilly@doubletroublerunning
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:39:41

    Loved this spot and was very proud of myself for ordering something different. Even Fran was surprised when I told him! Which in retrospect is a bit sad.

    Reply

  2. laurasmess
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 02:04:13

    I’ve never heard of Kettle cafe! I think I need to venture a bit further out from my usual breakfast spots; there are so many gems to discover these days. Love the look of that bean dish in particular. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Bakers Royale

I bake, I jog and I blog

Cookies and Cups

Chronicling my life in sugar

my darling lemon thyme

I bake, I jog and I blog

Bite-sized thoughts

I bake, I jog and I blog

Savour The Moment | To appreciate fully; enjoy or relish

Believe In Yourself - Blog

I bake, I jog and I blog

nicolejoyinspire

guilt free and raw desserts - gluten + dairy free, no added sugar

Claudia Beyer | BareVitality

Personal Trainer & Holistic Lifestyle Coach

With Style & Grace

I bake, I jog and I blog

My New Roots

I bake, I jog and I blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

